Geezerville

Another installment on the slow death highway to nowhere. Where very little happens, few new people enter the scene and nobody calls to see what’s happening. The nobodies, like me, already know: nothing is happening. Wasn’t that the premise of Seinfeld?

I watch Louie now. He hasn’t arrived in Geezerville yet but has encounters with characters who have. His neighbors in the building include a cranky doctor, played by Charles Grodin and an elderly Hungarian lady who has many problems in the elevator, played by Ellen Burstyn. Louie is a thought provoking comedy with many unfunny elements. Although Louis CK is only 46,  apparently he is thinking about the golden years. Rose-colored glasses are nowhere to be found but wisdom from elders is abundant. Grodin as the cranky doctor thinks Louie is the most boring person he knows.  81-year-old neighbor, Burstyn, gives sex advice to Louie, who is in love with her niece played by Ezster Balint. Yet Louie remains clueless. Does he not trust the wisdom of Geezerville? Stay tuned.

I relate to Louie in a way that takes me back 20 years, when I was 45, a single dad with a 10-year-old daughter, living in the big city, happening career and a decent, occasionally great, sex life. But was life really great? Like Louie, I wasn’t walking around with a smile on my face every day of the week. That is not to say that I was walking around with a black cloud over my head. If I wanted to observe black clouds, my moody girlfriend was a spectacularly prolific source. I wasn’t into drama then. Maybe I should’ve appreciated it more. Even if it scared the hell out of me, sex with a black cloud overhead beats no sex and no clouds, every day of the week.

Funny, this little exercise in reflection has actually put a smile on my face. If only there was a moody woman here to see it, Geezerville might be…..tolerable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About David Butterfield Photography and Fine Art

Director of Photography/HD Video Camera, Fine Art Photography/Painting, Big River with DJ Butter Podcast, butterphoto, High Desert, CA.
This entry was posted in life, memoir, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment